Personalized. Innovative. Global.

Personalized. Innovative. Global.

We appreciate your interest in the Van Meter Community School District and welcome your presence at School Board Meetings.

What is the Board's Role?
The Board's role is to provide leadership and establish policy for the school district. The Board sets district goals, determines curriculum, and allocates resources to meet its objectives. The Board is accountable to the state of Iowa and the people of Van Meter. Board members are also responsible for providing oversight to ensure that students are achieving at high levels and that public resources are being effectively and efficiently managed.

When and where does the Board meet?
The Board meets at 6:00 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month in Room 219.  

Does the Board offer an opportunity for public comment?
All meetings are open to the public except those permitted by law to be held in closed session. You may address the Board during the open forum held at the beginning of board meetings. These comments are usually limited to three minutes. Those wishing to have an item considered for placement on the agenda should contact the superintendent (996-9960) at least seven days prior to the meeting.

How may I contact board members?
You may email or telephone board members at the addresses and telephone numbers listed on this page.

2016-17 School Board Members

Liz Thompson
Liz Thompson

Member Since 2009
Term Expires 2017
2444 Pine Court

Liz Thompson and her husband Brett have three children who attend Van Meter School – Ben, Sam and Lilly. The three kids are 4th generation Thompsons to attend the school.  Liz was a graduate of Guthrie Center Community School. She attended two years of college at Southwestern Community College in Creston before she transferred to the University of Northern Iowa where she graduated with a BA degree.

She has been an employee of the City of Van Meter since 2004. In the past, Liz has served on the Van Meter Pre-K school board, Raccoon River Days committee and coached basketball, t-ball and soccer.

Click on Names to View
Dan Koster
Mark Smith
Vice President
Brian Gordon
Liz Thompson
Brent Haynes